Older engines Vs. New?

All Engine, Clutch, Chains, and Sprockets Stuff Here.
RedtillIdie

Older engines Vs. New?

Post by RedtillIdie »

Hello, I am new here, I am just getting into the CR500 club, I currently do not have a CR5, but I do have a 2006 CRF250X all modded out. I obviously have a lot of questions about the CR5. I was wondering if it is true that the older CR5 motors were more powerful and "faster" than the new ones because they cut down the power on the new ones?

Thanks guys, ride on!
AlisoBob
"Hoon-father"

Post by AlisoBob »

Yup..... try ride a '86 sometime.....

:shock:
RedtillIdie

Post by RedtillIdie »

AlisoBob wrote:Yup..... try ride a '86 sometime.....

:shock:
''

So the older ones like 86 and 90's are faster?
AlisoBob
"Hoon-father"

Post by AlisoBob »

It was pretty much over by '88.... 89-01 is basically all the same
RedtillIdie

Post by RedtillIdie »

AlisoBob wrote:It was pretty much over by '88.... 89-01 is basically all the same
The older ones are also close ratio which isn't that great for trails am I correct...?
AlisoBob
"Hoon-father"

Post by AlisoBob »

Yea, and theres corrosion, clutch, electrial and other issues with the early ones.

Stick with something '94 or later
dannygraves

Post by dannygraves »

'85-'87 were wide ratio, '88-'92 close and '93+ wide again.
'89 was a wicked motor, it had smoother power delivery than the '84-'86 becasue of the long rod introduced in '87. '87-'89 were the fastest. the earlier ones had rediculous power and it came on instantly like an electric motor, but they didn't rev worth a damn, so in a race a '87+ will win against an '85 or '86.